Beauty: L’Oreal Infallible 24 hour foundation | Review

Is L’Oreal’s Infallible Foundation a must buy for pale skinned girls?

My skin causes quite a lot of stress when it comes to finding a good foundation. It is oily yet dry, red with marks and scars that I want to hide and it is very pale. Therefore my checklist is as follows:

> Sits well – doesn’t rest on the dry parts of my skin, doesn’t sink into the oily parts. 

> As pale as Pale can be

>Good coverage- hides redness as well as possible

>Lasts without having to reapply for at least the working day

I stuck to what I have grown to love in the past few months; the coverage holy grail that is Vichy’s Dermablend. I love Dermablend and I will probably never not buy it, buL'Oreal Infallible Foundation Review t I think our skin, like our hair, needs a bit of a change up in terms of the products we use on it.

Enter L’Oreal Infallible 24hr Foundation in it’s latest incarnation; lighter formula that claims to hold for 24 hours and has a very nice, square shaped bottle (sucker for packaging).

How does it sit?

Does that make sense? How does it sit?

I’ve used too many foundations over the years that seemed to just “rest” on my face. They don’t blend well, the linger around dry parts, they absorb into oily parts; you look like the work of a Walking Dead make up artist.

This won’t do for someone that has combination skin; we deserve even skin too, you know!

Infallible seems to be ideal for combination skin. I found it smoothed out my uneven skin tone and balanced things out nicely with out sitting into creases (sob) and dry patches.

As Pale As Pale Can Be

We’re in Ireland. It really shouldn’t be this hard to get a pale foundation but it is. I looked at every brand in Boots before purchasing this foundation and aside from Revlon, but I find their foundations I very pore unfriendly, and Rimmel, which was a let down, I couldn’t find a shade suitable.

L’Oreal Infallible in Porcelain is the best shade match I have ever used. Usually a pink or yellow tone overrides the paleness required but this is a pleasantly pasty shade with a hint of peach to give the tiniest glow.

L'Oreal Infallible Foundation

Pale but Covered: Without any primers or powders

Good Coverage

I am not blessed with the kind of skin that can be lightly coated in a BB cream or tinted moisturiser and look flawless. My skin needs work, concealer and a foundation with good coverage.

The trouble is, it’s difficult to come across a foundation that is pale and has good coverage or that doesn’t require several layers and serious blending action. Nearly Naked by Revlon just about does the job and of course that is the entire purpose of the Dermablend range but they are few and far between.

The infallible foundation surprised me with wonderful coverage despite its practically white shade. What’s more is, I didn’t need to put any more than a petit pois sized blob on my brush which means it will last longer and that your skin won’t be overrun with product. Happy days.

 Lasting Power

 Admittedly my expectations were low in regard to the potential coverage and stay time of this foundation. My faith in “drugstore” brands isn’t strong since the Rimmel foundation staying power situation (in short, it was awful). I was really surprised that this foundation lasts so long. Usually, even with Dermablend which boasts a long stay-put period, I have to pretty much redo my entire face at lunchtime and really, would you be bothered?

I’ve checked my face at lunchtime using this foundation and was surprised to see that I just needed a little touch-up around the chin. I also wore it to a Christening; applied it at 9am and didn’t have to touch it up until about 5pm.  It doesn’t last 24 hours but sure, really, why would you need that?

For someone who has oily skin it is a mini-triumph finding a foundation thatcan actually last any length of time before your skin seemingly drinks it all up!

So, The Verdict.

Does L’Oreal infinity dash my doubts over run of the mill drugstore foundations. Well, no, because this isn’t run of the mill. It trumps it’s counterparts in offering something high quality and long lasting while offering a wide range of shades from Porcelain to Rose Beige; a  much darker, pinkier shade. Ticking all the boxes on my checklist, I wouldn’t write off the possibility of repurchasing this product.

This comes with a hefty recommendation for any pale ladies out there looking fora light foundation that covers the blemishes. You can pick it up in boots for around €15. 

3 thoughts on “Beauty: L’Oreal Infallible 24 hour foundation | Review

Leave a Reply

