Beauty: la roche posay anthelios xl 50+ SPF | Review

We’ve had a few glimpses of sun in Ireland over the past while. I’m a bit of a suncare fiend; Irish people seem to think Skincancer doesn’t effect them and pass on the SPF when heading out in the sun.

This really gets to me; not only are you risking cancer, you will age your skin terribly. Your future self will thank you for using a good SPF and tanning safely if you must.

la roche posay anthelios xl 50+ SPF

Me? I’m ok with the pale look. It’s my thing, I suppose. So slathering on the factor 50 not only protects me from the nasty cancer and wrinkles, it also stops me from losing my well maintained pastiness of which I am so proud! Truth be told, my skin burns so easily, it’s not worth the risk in even using a factor 10.

Anyway, I digress from the point of this blog post. Recently the lovely Paula in Market Match kindly sent me the brand new La roche posay anthelios xl 50+; a tinted moisturiser with an SPF of 50. This is no mean feat. I’m sure most tinted moisturiser fans know tinted moisturisers are quite low in SPF and won’t do when heading to sunnier climes.

This “Face Fluid” is very high in protection, low in the nasties, as LRP are known for being pretty much everything bad free, and it will give you a light glow on brighter days when you might not want to have a full face of make up on.

This is particularly handy for trips away because who really likes having layers of thick foundation on their face in 35 degree heats? No one…

I like this product however if you read the blog from time to time you will know that I don’t have the clearest skin. It’s quite problematic and I favour higher coverage that a tinted moisturiser.

On it’s own, it just doesn’t do it for me. It’s too light for my often red skin. Instead, I have been using it as a base, applying it generously and still maintaining my paleness, and using the Vichy Dermablend Compact, which has an SPF of 35, to give some coverage to my problem areas. Topping it off with Vichy’s setting powder carries it through the working day. Incidently, the powder also has a sizeable SPF of 30. No hope of sunburn on my chops!

What’s more is, I’ve noticed my skin improve a little with using the sunscreen. I can only assume that there is some degree of Vitamin E in it that is helping my skin along.

If you have clear skin, this will be the only tool you need for your sunny weather, if not, it will be a close companion to your concealing products. It is a fantastic product, even if my skin needs a little extra help.

Claire Out! 

To the comments. 

4 thoughts on “Beauty: la roche posay anthelios xl 50+ SPF | Review

Leave a Reply

