Fitness & Health: Yoga at Home

The Easiest Way To Do Yoga At Home

I was contemplating starting Yoga classes on top of my training with the guys at Baldoyle’s Body Transformation Studio, but I couldn’t justify spending more cash on fitness classes.

I’ve experienced the benefits of yoga before by taking classes at my local gym (which I no longer attend out of pure frustration with how they do things, to be honest). Yoga is not only relaxing, but it is great for stretching out your back muscles, improving your flexibility and lengthening your arm and leg muscles. More importantly it is great for focusing your mentality on something that isn’t, or at least shouldn’t be, stressful and mentally demanding.

Motivating myself to workout at home has been a constant challenge, which is why Body Transformations works for me. That being said because Yoga is a lot less strenuous than cardio and weight training, it is easier to work it in to your schedule because you can just slot ten or 15 min sessions in before you go to bed.

cheap and cheerful Yoga

Exercise equipment doesn’t have to cost a fortune these days. Fitness is a “thing” now and even Penneys have hopped on the bandwagon, stocking everything from water bottles and sports bras. I picked up a yoga mat in Penneys for only €10; It’s great quality – the same you would expect from paying top dollar.

You can also pick up decent and comfortable workout wear from Penneys, so there are few excuses for not being kitted out for yoga in the comfort of your own home.

Your at home Yoga Instructor

 Similarly to the equipment, you don’t need to splash on a yoga DVD, at least not if you have a smart phone or tablet.

I use the daily yoga app, which is free on iTunes and the Google Play Store .

Yoga App recommendations

This is a wonderful app which has heaps of free yoga sequences to suit beginners and pros alike. The sequences can be as long as 20 minutes, but if you fancy going for longer, there is no harm in combining two sequences.

My favourite to do is the Yoga sequence for stretching the back, mainly because I have issues with my upper back at times and it feels amazing to stretch it out, particularly in times of stress.

This free app is probably the best on the market; the “instructor” guides literally every movement you make, it has soothing music and moving videos to coaching along in case you’re not sure of what you are meant to be doing exactly.  If you consider yourself a bit of  a pro you can turn the instructors voice down and work of the imagery on your phone or tablet’s screen.

If you are willing to spend a little on the app you can purchase extra music playlists and sequences, although, honestly, the free options are fantastic so I don’t think it’s worth spending.

I’ve been doing yoga sequences just once a week for the past two weeks and I have definitely seen an improvement in my flexibility; although regular exercise has probably helped with that too. Honestly, it is so simple and I have never felt anything but pleasantly stretched out and relaxed afterwards.

The best part of it is that you can go at your own pace; challenge yourself or take it ease as you see fit.  It’s also nice to take sometime out and concentrate on your breathing and form for a few minutes when feeling particularly pressurised.

Do you practice yoga at home? Or have you got any other fitness apps you recommend? Whatever your thoughts, I’d love to read them below. 

2 thoughts on “Fitness & Health: Yoga at Home

  1. Excellent blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover
    the same topics talked about here? I’d really love to be a part of
    online community where I can get advice from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know.

    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

