Beauty: Affordable Lip Crayon Recommendations and Swatches

Lip Pencils, Lip Crayons, Chubby Stickswhatever you call them, there are the make up item of 2014. Every brand is embracing this new lip trend this year, so I thought it made sense to review and compare a few of them.

When in Boots and Superdrug a while back I picked up four crayons by three different brands; Revlon’s Colorburst Matte Balm in Striking, a orange-red shade, Revlon’s Just Bitten Kissable Lip Balm stain in Lovestick, Rimmel Lasting Colour Rush Colour Balm in Rumour Has it and the cheapest of the bunch Seventeen Lip Crayon in Knockout.

Lip Crayon Reviews

(L-R): Seventeen Lip Crayon, Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm, Rimmel Last Finish Colour Rush, Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain

Seventeen Lip Crayon – Knockout

Although this is the most disappointing of the four crayons, it’s the cheapest at only €6.29, so some allowances can be made for that. This is meant to be a high shine lip crayon, but the cost of it really shows in the shimmer. Remember the cheap €2 lipglosses you got in your early teens that you thought were the business but in retrospect they were tacky in every sense of the word? That is what the finish on this reminds me of.

I was also wasn’t in love with the colour. I got this shade because I wanted a deep purple colour, as it appears on the actual crayon but it’s not how it turns out. It is purple, no doubt about that, but it’s not quite what you expect; it’s more of a pinkish purple.

Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm- Striking

This my favourite of all four. The colour lives up to its name; it’s a strong shade, though light enough for day time and striking enough for evenings. I always have a preference for matte lips, so that also lends to my preference, but this is so smooth and light on the lips I can’t help but love it. This is slightly more expensive but at just €11.20 it’s still really affordable, and for such a unique shade a texture, it’s really a bargain buy.

Revlon Lip Crayon Matte

Rimmel Lasting Finish Colour Rush – Rumour Has It

This one comes in joint second place; the colour is a beautiful berry shade, which I find suits my complexion quite well. Rimmel trumps all three brands tested because it lasts the longest. It is more of a moisturising stain than a balm crayon; lasting hours without having to touch up. At just €7.95 a pop, that’s not bad.

Revlon Just Bitten Lip Kissable Balm Stain – Lovestick

I another great effort from Revlon, this balm stain crayon has a very light sheen, as you can see on the swatch, also €11.20.

The colour doesn’t come out incredibly vibrant, it’s more of a tint on the lips in a beautiful pink shade. Every time my sister comes down she is compelled to borrow it, so beautiful the finish.

Although I am a huge fan of traditional lipstick I would definitely by a few more of these lighter feeling crayons, particularly the Revlon and Rimmel ones. I can definitely see why people favour favour these over lipsticks, particularly for day wear. When wearing them I hardly notice that it’s on and the colours aren’t too over the top when going for an understated but colourful look.

I particularly recommend using these if you want to use lipstick but don’t think you can pull of the full consistency or if the heaviness bothers you.

What do you think of Lip Crayons? Do you have any affordable recommendations? 

4 thoughts on “Beauty: Affordable Lip Crayon Recommendations and Swatches

  1. I own the Revlon crayon in pink and I absolutely LOVE it! Its my go-to for college and day events. Will definitely give the others ones a try too. Great post!

Leave a Reply

