Baking Bad: Homemade Protein Bar Recipe

Episode 6 of Baking Bad takes a more healthy approach to baking. Some people will know I’m attempting to turn my lifestyle around so some of my baking will be healthier than previously.

I couldn’t find a baked protein bar recipe so I decided to create my own. Such a risk, really, since I have trouble following tried and tested recipes.

Ingredients for Homemade Protein Bars:

250g of Porridge Oats

1 scoop of Protein (I use vanilla)

6 Bananas

1/2 Jar of Peanut Butter

1/4 cup of Almond milk

ingredients for protein bars

Method for Baking Banana Bread: 

Blend the oats in until they look like a fine flour

Mash the bananas like your life depends on it, until there are no big lumps.

Mix in the peanut butter

Add the milk.

Spread on a flat, slightly deep baking tray

Bake for 15 minutes

Let it cool down before cutting into bar shapes; handy hint, use a pizza cutter.

Baked Protein Bar recipes

How did it Turn Out?:

I was nervous about this, because I was sure it wouldn’t raised but of course, I forgot that oats expand! The mixture rose beautifully, if a little bit too much on one side. It turned a golden brown colour and it smelled devine when I took the tray out of the oven.

baked protein bars

Flavour wise, these baby’s are fantastic; is there any better combo than bananas and peanut butter? No, no is the answer to that question. I was a little disappointed in these bars, however, because despite the delicious taste they are very, very dry. I would recommend adding slightly more almond milk than I did (1/4 as mentioned in the ingredients list) and perhaps use 1/2 a cup. I know protein bars a dry anyway, but it couldn’t hurt to be a little easier on the palette and almond milk is fully of goodness.

Aside from the dry texture, these are pretty tasty and I will definitely make them again. If you are trying to snack healthy these are a great way to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Baking Bad Tunes:

Blur seemed a good choice for my healthy baking escapades.



I would love if you could share some baked protein bar recipes with me, to add a little variety to my healthy snacks. Please feel free to do so below. 

Feel free to tweet me your pictures if you try this recipe out, I’d love to see your pictures. 

Leave a Reply

