Beauty: MUA Matte Eyeshadow Palette

While my love affair with Make Up Academy was tested by their Pro Base conceal and brighten kit my fandom of the brand has not fully waned.

I’ve been using their fabulous ‘Ever After’ Matte Eyeshadow Palette daily for a couple of weeks now. What I love most about a good palette is that it leaves no excuse for wearing the same look every single day; life is too short for that carry on.

MUA Matte Palette reviews.

With ten neutral shades, there is a lot to play around with. I have favoured Chino; a taupe shade similar to Brule by MAC cosmetics, for a quick one shade look.

The best thing about this palette is that all ten shades work really well together, with the white, cream and nude shades serving as bases, while the rest serve as great colour builders and definers. I’ve read some pretty poor reviews over the past few months complaining that the blending was off, they’re chalky and they don’t stick. Unless  there have been some vast improvements made since then, which I doubt, I can’t help but think that they’re technique may be off. Far be it from to say that, though, as I seem to be the only who thinks Urban Decay’s Naked Palettes are blendless and over marketed.

I understand different eyeshadows work differently on people’s skin but I haven’t used a palette that blends so well in a very long time. The shades are well matched and the pigment doesn’t flake on to the cheekbones when applying like most eyeshadows would.

Here are some looks I’ve been wearing with the MUA Matte Eyeshadow Palette:

Medium shade Palette MUA Review

This medium shadow was created using Fade as a base, Penny to blend and Truffle to define.

MUA palette review

This lighter look is my favourite. It’s Tafetta, Chino and a very lightly applied Smoke

Matte palette MUA review

I rarely wear heavy eyeshadow but when I do I like to make as intense as possible! The MUA Matte Eyeshadow Palette allows perfectly for this kind of look. Here I used Bronze, Truffle in the crease and smokey at the outer lid.

Have you used this particular eyeshadow palette? What did you think? 

3 thoughts on “Beauty: MUA Matte Eyeshadow Palette

Leave a Reply

