Baking Bad: Christmas Special – Mince pies

It’s the Baking Bad Christmas Special! In this episode of Baking Bad, we’re talking festive baking.

Today I baked traditional Mince Pies and some not so traditional Christmas Buns. I won’t go into detail about the buns. They’re a run of the mill cake mix with an obscene amount of food die thrown in; I’ve left pictures below!

Traditional Mince Pies.

Ok, Ok. I cheated on this one. While I was perfectly comfortable attempting to make “mincemeat” for the pies without poisoning anyone, I am not yet ready to tackle shortcrust pastry. I bought a packet of jus-rol. Don’t judge me!

The Ingredients: 

1 Jus-Roll Shortcrust Pastry

1 egg for glazing.

150mls of Jameson Whiskey

1 1/2 packets of Mixed fruit and fruit peel.

150 grams of Brown Sugar.

1 1/2 teaspoons of all spice.

1 Lemon and Lime for zest.

100g of butter.

Easy Mince Pie Recipe

Method:

This is a very easy recipe, particularly if you’re cheating with some Jus-Roll.

  • Throw the fruit into a mixing bowl.
  • Grate the zest of the lemon and lime in.
  • Stir in the butter.
  • Add the spices and cinnamon.
  • Dissolve the sugar in some Whiskey for five minutes.
  • Pour it into the fruit mix.
  • Leave the mixutre for at least 24 hours.
  • The next day (or later if you’re not in a rush.)
  • Follow the instutions on the Jus-Roll packet (I will eventually tackle pastry, maybe).
  • Cut out circle shapes and fill your mince pies.
  • Glaze with butter and egg yolk.
  • Cook in the oven for 25-30 Minutes.

Results: 

The extra egg and butter on the pastry gave a nicer flavour than the plain, store bought pastry would have on its own. I was actually really surprised at how tasty they were and they seem to be going down well with the family.

Here are a couple of pictures of the Christmas Buns I made.

Green and Red Buns

20131223_152708

What I listened to: 

 

Leave a Reply

