Beauty: Accidental Beauty Haul.

Oh dear. I popped into one of my many retail havens, Boots, to by one simple but necessary item and came out with a haul costing about €60. Of course, I can justify each and every purchase wholeheartedly. That’s a skill of mine.

It all began when I somehow wandered into the beauty section and was startled by a mattifying top coat by Bourjois Paris and it all went down hill from there.

Beauty Reviews Dublin

The Haul

Vichy Dermablend Ultra Corrective Foundation Cream Stick
Rimmel Stay Blushed
Rimmel 60 second nail varnish in Black 
Bourjois Paris So Matt
Seventeen Instant Glow Bronzer
Maybelline 24 hr Color Tattoo
Rimmel Fix & Perfect Primer
Max Factor Wild Mega Volume Mascara. 


I’ll be reviewing the Dermablend, Stay Blushed, So Matt, and Color Tattoo eyeshadow individually and I reckon you are all know well aquainted with Rimmel’s most popular nail varnish so their is no need to get into the nitty gritty about that.

For now, I’ll take a look at the Bronzer, Primer and Mascara.

Seventeen Instant Glow Bronzer

Seventeen Bronzer Review

I know, I know; I never stop banging on about my pale complexion but when reviewing beauty products, its kind of important. Due to my pale skin I tend to avoid heavy bronzers. I know plenty of people who happily adopt warm tones on their cheek bones and I love the look of shimmering bronzer on tanned skin however it really doesn’t work with my complexion.

I decided to be on the look out for a light in shade, matte bronzer that I could use for contouring my cheek bones and low and behold Boots Brand Seventeen had exactly that. Instant glow is their answer to Sun Shimmer, with bronzing rocks, shimmer bricks and body bronzer. They only difference, and a favourable one for Seventeen, is that they offer a matte bronzer.

The light bronze is perfect for paler skin and as I was only using it under my check bone a slight amount was only needed. It wasn’t overly obvious and it blended in easily enough with a good brush to highlight the cheeks and give my tired complexion a much needed lift.

Use a a soft contour brush to get the best effect.

Rimmel Fix and Perfect Pro Primer

 

Another product I’ve avoided like the plague; Primer. I put it down to a fad, an unnecessary product propelled into the mainstream, a gimmick. I caved in my spending flurry and bought  Rimmel’s primer after having pores related issues.

The product claims to smooth, mattify and promote longer lasting foundation. I’ve been using it for a couple of days now and I can see the results. I have oily skin so it’s hard to find a foundation that sticks and to find a product that helps with that feels like a minor, very minor, victory.

I found, recently, that the pours on my cheeks beside my nose were visible even with make up on and this definitely evens things out in that department. I also find my skin is more supple when I take my make up off after using it so it would appear that the benefits go beyond the appearances of make up.

Max Factor Wild Mega Volume Mascara

Max Factor’s latest addition is one of my favourites from this particular haul. The results of a good mascara can make or break a good look and lets face it, whether you have an “on trend” look, whether your a rocker or little bit preppy all a girl wants in her mascara is volume. Long, full lashes is the ultimate goal.

I have to say; I have almost as many mascaras as I do Lipsticks (42 and counting and the mascaras aren’t far behind) because I am always in search of a more volumising mascara. This is my favourite so far, trumping Chanel and MAC by miles. If you take a look at the picture below, one eye has mascara, one doesn’t and I think the results speak for themselves. So the picture isn’t better, but I think the lashes on the left eye are considerably more volumised. I am in love with this product.

Max Factor Wild Mega Volume Mascara Review

Keep an eye out for  reviews of some of the other products I bought on my trip to my favourite shop!

 

Leave a Reply

