Beauty: Post-party rejuvenation

As this is a Music Lifestyle Blog, nodding towards all things that come into the life of this 20-something, female, music obsessed blogger, it makes sense to touch on some of the problems this kind of lifestyle produces and offering solutions I have found work.

The problem with maintaining a music-focused lifestyle is that it can take it’s toll on you physically, particularly if you are a girl. I’m not talking about physical exhaustion or lack of energy, I’m speaking of the effects it can have on your hair and skin (Cue dramatic music).

Sometimes we have those kind of weekends that make memories; never ending streams of your favourite poison, at least a couple of gigs or nights out, usually accompanied by greasy but delicious foods, be it pre-gig burritos or 4am burger and chips (both?). Not to mention the sweaty, often dry-iced venues in which we revel. While I will never say ‘no’ to one of those weekends, I can’t deny that the condition they render my complexion and hair becomes so irritating I often contemplate ways I can avoid leaving the house until they return to normal condition. Admit it, you’ve felt the same after a weekend of parties and gigs. It’s hard being a girl, it really is.

Sometimes it makes more sense to take a night off during the week to rejuvenate your body, at least until the next manic, take away food and sweaty gig venue fuelled weekend arises.  I’ve been having very recent and very irritating trouble with my hair and skin after about a month of fantastic nights out and weekends running on copious amounts of chicken wings and Mexican/Chinese food; obviously I’m not complaining, I’ve had a great time, but when your body and hair are dry and  your face is red and tired and you have a spot face resembling the one that graced Chris Griffin’s face in family guy, you earn the right to have a bit of a moan.

I have come across what I somewhat over dramatically call my ‘saving graces’; my go-to items when I am in need of some hair and complexion TLC.

Dealing with Dry and Lifeless Hair

John Frieda Full Repair Deep Conditioner Mask 

John Frieda Hair Mask

I definitely don’t have the kind of lifestyle or time that allows for long, luxurious hair treatments and long-lasting, indulgent showers or baths but once in a while, when I feel my hair is dry and weak from bad foods, back combing and bottles upon bottles of hairspray I do take a couple of minutes out of the schedule to treat my hair with this mask. The tub is enormous so if you are using it infrequently as I do it will last quite some time. Simple: apply a handful onto wet hair and let it sit for about 5 minutes then wash off thoroughly. The result is a more luscious, manageable mane. It’s €8.99 for a 150 ml tub in Boots.

Dry, Blemished Skin

Boots Tea Tree and Witch Hazel Face Wash

Rejuventate- Boots Witch Hazel Foaming Face Wash

I was in Liverpool recently and I bought this over there as it was cheap but I was pleasantly surprised. Although the cleanser is liquid in the bottle it foams when you press the pump so it is light and unabrasive on the skin. It’s much lighter on the face and neck than a cream cleanser which, combined with the blemish bashing tea tree and witch hazel, means it is gentle on tired skin. The results become clear after about a week of use as blemishes become smaller and skin feels fresher. €3.36 in Boots.

Boots Tea Tree and Witch Hazel Face Mask

Boots Tea Tree and Witch Hazel Face Mask- Rejuvenate

Using a face mask is one thing I promise I will do once a week but generally do maybe three times a year. They are fantastic and this is definitely one of the best I have tried. Far from being a fan of creamy, thick face masks the gel-like consistency of the tea tree and witch hazel face mask works well with my sensitive skin. If your skin is prone to redness this will suit you fine as it is light and the witch hazel is calming on the skin. When you peel it off it is the most amazing feeling; you’ll feel fresh because the mask peels away surface impurities that remain after you cleanse. You can get the mask for €1.49 in any Boots store or online.

Nivea Daily Essentials Oil Free Moisturising Day Cream & Regenerating Night Cream.

Nivea Night Cream- Dry Skin

Only recently embracing what I conceive to be a relatively grown up routine of using Day creams and Night Creams. I am a working girl now, I can’t be lashing on any auld moisturiser any time of the day, you know (I jest). Nivea is my go to brand, partly due to the influence of my Nivea Creme, lip balm and hand cream wielding mother but also because it is a reliable, pure brand that generally caters for all skin types. The oil free moisturiser is perfect for people who suffer from oily skin and outbreaks but also get dry patches when the skin is tired.

I’ve been using this in combination with the thicker regenerating night cream for three months having suffered with a horrendously dry T-zone for months. Side note: Would any of us know what a T-zone was if it wasn’t for Friends? 

In combination with La Roche Posay’s Ultra Fine Scrub  they have banished dry skin, which tends to resurface after a heavy weekend, for good (hopefully). If you do suffer from oily skin, however I don’t recommend using the night cream all over your face as it is very heavy.

Dry legs and Arms

Soap and Glory Flake Away

Dry Skin- Soap and Glory Body Scrub Rejuvenation

Don’t let their fun, retrospect packaging fool you, Soap and Glory make some seriously good products, not least of all Flake Away a fantastic body scrub that trumps most of the similarly affordable brands. It is thick and putty like in consistency which works so much better than any cream scrubs.

When you spend a weekend eating foods that are bad for you and drinking alcohol your body becomes dehydrated which often shows in dry patches on your skin. Rub them away with this fantastic product which retails at €9.75 in Boots. Soap and Glory make myriad scrubs but this is best I’ve used due to its thick consistency.

Secret Wake Up Weapon

Nivea Happy Time Shower Cream

Rejuvenating Shower Gels

All of the above takes care of the visible effects of a weekend on the sauce, cramped in sweaty gig rooms, but this amazing shower wash deals with the slightly declined mood that can follow. The citrus fruit aromas awaken the senses and genuinely do make you feel better the morning after the number of nights before. You can pick it up in most supermarkets for about €2, give or take 50 cent; try it, you’ll thank me.

Leave a Reply

